Biography and Autobiography Databases

Ancestry - Library Edition

THIS RESOURCE IS AVAILABLE FOR USE ONLY AT THE LIBRARY.

Ancestry Library Edition delivers over 4 billion records in census data, vital records, directories, photos, and more for individuals from North America, Europe, Australia, and more.

Answers await everyone - whether professional or hobbyist, expert or novice, genealogist, or historian - inside the more than 4,000 available databases. Here, you can unlock the story of you with sources like censuses, vital records, immigration records, family histories, military records, court and legal documents, directories, photos, maps, and more.

And, with ongoing updates and new content always being added, you'll keep coming back to discover more.

Colorado Histories from the Colorado Virtual Library

Colorado Histories from the Colorado Virtual Library has amassed a collection of some 50 biographies of famous Coloradans, many enriched by beautiful archival images from theDenver Public Library. Over time, they will add more bios, sketches of historical events, maps, oral histories, videos, and more.  

Heritage Quest

HeritageQuest is a comprehensive treasury of American genealogical sources—rich in unique primary sources, local and family histories, and finding aids.

Literary Reference Center
Literary Reference Center

Combining information from major respected reference works, books, literary journals, and original content from EBSCO, Literary Reference Center features an expansive collection of author biographies, plot summaries & work overviews, full-text essays from leading publishers, literary reference books & monographs, cover-to-cover full text for literary magazines & journals, book reviews from the most prestigious publications, poems from hundreds of sources, short stories, classic texts, author interviews, and much more.  -from EBSCO

People from NewsBank
People Profiles from NewsBank

Find news on all kinds of people from our NewsBank database.

Poets.org

Poets.org is the award-winning website of the Academy of American Poets. Visitors to Poets.org will find thousands of poems as well as hundreds of poet biographies, essays, interviews, and poetry recordings - with new material being added all the time.

World Book Online
World Book

Access all of our World Book databases including:

  • World Book Kids
  • World Book Student
  • World Book Advanced
  • World Book Timelines
  • Enciclopedia Estudiantil Hallazgos
World Book Kids
World Book Kids

World Book Kids is the premier online resource developed especially for young users. The site has been optimized for tablets and features image-based navigation, easy-to-read articles, thousands of images and videos as well as a wealth of engaging games, science projects, and activities.

World Book Kids features:
* A variety of simple search and browse navigation options
* Thousands of easy-to-read articles with embedded multimedia
* Engaging images, illustrations, videos, maps, and animations
* More than 50 challenging games across five subject areas
* A tool for exploring and comparing animals and places
* An Important People feature to help students search and browse through thousands of biographies
* A collection of age-appropriate science projects and activities
* An atlas, interactive maps, and outline maps and flags
* Teacher resources