Reference Databases

Academic Search Premier
Academic Search Premier

 A popular resource found in many academic settings worldwide, this resource was designed for the premier researcher, rich with the most valuable, comprehensive multidisciplinary content available. As a leading scholarly database, it provides access to acclaimed full-text journals, magazines, and other valuable resources.

-from Ebsco

Colorado Historic Newspaper Collection

This project from the Colorado State Library includes digital copies of more than 60 Colorado newspapers, dating from the 1850s to the 1920s. The database includes thousands of articles, graphics, letters to the editor and advertisements.

Colorado Revised Statutes

The Colorado Revised Statutes are made available for public use by the Committee on Legal Services of the Colorado General Assembly through a contractual arrangement with the LexisNexis Group, which prepares and maintains this website. The website includes access to Colorado Court Rules, the full text of the Colorado Revised Statutes, an alphabetical index, and the state and federal Constitutions.

EbscoHost

EbscoHost is a powerful online reference system that offers a variety of proprietary full-text databases. Search for journal and magazine articles on general topics, business, science, and careers.

EbscoHost is also available in: Deutsch | Espagnol | Francais

Explora Primary
Explora Primary

Explora Primary is specifically designed for elementary school researchers. Explora Primary includes a simple search that quickly delivers relevant results including articles, essays, and primary source documents to help students feel successful in their research as well as easy-to-browse categories organized by popular topic to give students research ideas. Topic overviews provide students with a starting point for research.

Explora Secondary
Explora Secondary

 Explora Secondary is specifically designed for middle and high school researchers. Explora Secondary includes a simple search that quickly delivers relevant results including articles, essays, and primary source documents to help students feel successful in their research as well as easy-to-browse categories organized by popular topic to give students research ideas. Topic overviews provide students with a starting point for research.

Funk & Wagnalls New Encyclopedia

 Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia contains over 25,000 articles covering an array of topics.  

MAS Ultra Online Magazines

This comprehensive database contains full text for nearly 500 popular high school magazines including America's Civil War, American Heritage, American History, Archaeology, Astronomy, Bioscience, Careers & Colleges, Civil War Times, Congressional Digest, Discover, History Today, Nation, National Review, New Republic, New Scientist, Popular Science, Science News, Scientific American, Smithsonian, World War II, and more.

Middle Search Plus

Middle Search Plus contains more than 150 popular middle school magazines as well as thousands of biographies and historical essays.  Additionally, Middle Search Plus includes primary source documents including essential documents in American History, reference books including the Funk & Wagnall's New World Encyclopedia; New Oxford American Dictionary, 2nd Edition; Encyclopedia of Animals™; and thousands of relevant photos, maps and flags. 

NewsBank
NewsBank

NewsBank includes over 12,000 searchable titles spanning a wide array of sourcce types, from newspapers to blogs to newswires to videos and more. Deep back files deliver more local, national, and international information than other news resources and NewsBank only provides information from trusted sources, ensuring credible and focused search results.

Newspaper Source

Newspaper Source provides cover-to-cover full text for more than 40 national and international newspapers, including the Christian Science Monitor, USA Today, The Washington Post, The Washington Times, The Times (London), Toronto Star, and more.

The database also contains selective full text for more than 330 regional newspapers. In addition, full-text television & radio news transcripts are provided from CBS News, CNN, CNN International, FOX News, NPR, and more.

NoveList K-8

NoveList K-8 allows you to discover the fiction titles that are popular with young readers. Find Recommended Reads lists organized by age group or search for books by genre, subject, or literary award. NoveList K-8 includes reviews, annotations, and information for parents and educators.

NoveList Plus

NoveList Plus is the best databases to find the next book you want to read.  NoveList Plus provides subject heading access, reviews, annotation, and much more for over 135,000 titles including fiction, nonfiction, and audiobooks. It also includes other content of interest to fiction readers, such as Author Read-alikes, What We're Reading, Book Discussion Guides, BookTalks, and Annotated Book lists.

 

Occupational Outlook Handbook

 The Occupational Outlook Handbook from the U.S. Department of Labor provides essential information for hundreds of occupations. Information includes typical responsibilities for specific jobs, information on what skills or prerequisites are needed to get a particular job, average pay, and typical work environment.

Primary Search

 Primary Search contains full text for more than 80 popular elementary school magazines. All full-text articles are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles). Additionally, Primary Search includes the Encyclopedia of Animals, and features the Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia, which provides students with easy-to-read encyclopedic entries written specifically for kids. This database also provides the American Heritage Children's Dictionary, 3rd Edition from Houghton Mifflin, and thousands of relevant photos, maps and flags.

TOPICsearch

This current events database allows researchers to explore social, political & economic issues, scientific discoveries and other popular topics discussed in today's classrooms including controversial opinions and viewpoints.

TOPICsearch contains full text for over 140,000 articles from nearly 260 diverse sources including international newspapers, EBSCO's unparalleled collection of periodicals, biographies, public opinion polls, book reviews, pamphlets, and government information.
World Book Kids
World Book Kids

World Book Kids is the premier online resource developed especially for young users. The site has been optimized for tablets and features image-based navigation, easy-to-read articles, thousands of images and videos as well as a wealth of engaging games, science projects, and activities.

World Book Kids features:
* A variety of simple search and browse navigation options
* Thousands of easy-to-read articles with embedded multimedia
* Engaging images, illustrations, videos, maps, and animations
* More than 50 challenging games across five subject areas
* A tool for exploring and comparing animals and places
* An Important People feature to help students search and browse through thousands of biographies
* A collection of age-appropriate science projects and activities
* An atlas, interactive maps, and outline maps and flags
* Teacher resources

World Factbook from the CIA

The World Factbook provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities. Our Reference tab includes: maps of the major world regions, as well as Flags of the World, a Physical Map of the World, a Political Map of the World, a World Oceans map, and a Standard Time Zones of the World map. 

-Description from www.cia.gov.

Zinio
Zinio

Library patrons have access to over 100 top titles from Zinio. All magazine titles checked out are free and yours to keep! Click here to learn more about how to use Zinio.