Science Databases

Fuel Economy Guide

 The Fuel Economy Guide from the U.S. Department of Energy provides fuel economy estimates, energy and environmental impact ratings, fuel saving tips, and other useful information for vehicles from 1984 to the present.

GreenFILE

GreenFILE offers well-researched information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on the environmental effects of individuals, corporations and local/national governments, and what can be done at each level to minimize these effects.

Science Reference Center

 Science Reference Center is a comprehensive research database that provides easy access to a multitude of full-text science-oriented content. Designed to meet every student's science research needs, Science Reference Center contains full text for hundreds of science encyclopedias, reference books, periodicals and other sources.

Topics covered include biology, chemistry, earth & space science, environmental science, health & medicine, history of science, life science, physics, science & society, science as inquiry, scientists, technology and wildlife.
TED Ed

TED-Ed’s commitment to creating lessons worth sharing is an extension of TED’s mission of spreading great ideas. Within the growing TED-Ed video library, you will find carefully curated educational videos, many of which represent collaborations between talented educators and animators nominated through the TED-Ed platform. This platform also allows users to take any useful educational video, not just TED's, and easily create a customized lesson around the video. Users can distribute the lessons, publicly or privately, and track their impact on the world, a class, or an individual student. -From the TED Ed website

U.S. Dept. of Energy: Rifle Uranium Sites

 The U.S. Department of Energy (DOE) has prepared a Data Validation Package, dated June 2010, containing the groundwater and surface water monitoring data generated from the November 2009 sampling event at the Old and New Rifle Processing Sites (those are the official DOE names for the uranium mill tailing sites located near Rifle). The package includes worksheets and reports that document the sampling activities and validation procedures conducted.  Click on the U.S. Dept. of Energy: Rifle Uranium Sites link above to go to the DOE's main page for information on the Rifle sites. The direct link to the June 2010 report is http://www.LM.doe.gov/Rifle/S01109_RFO.pdf.

Udacity
World Book Kids
World Book Kids

World Book Kids is the premier online resource developed especially for young users. The site has been optimized for tablets and features image-based navigation, easy-to-read articles, thousands of images and videos as well as a wealth of engaging games, science projects, and activities.

World Book Kids features:
* A variety of simple search and browse navigation options
* Thousands of easy-to-read articles with embedded multimedia
* Engaging images, illustrations, videos, maps, and animations
* More than 50 challenging games across five subject areas
* A tool for exploring and comparing animals and places
* An Important People feature to help students search and browse through thousands of biographies
* A collection of age-appropriate science projects and activities
* An atlas, interactive maps, and outline maps and flags
* Teacher resources